Libla and Richardson Receive Legislative Award of Distinction

Nov 06, 2014

BRANSON Thursday, November 6.  Sen. Doug Libla (R-Poplar Bluff) and Rep. Todd Richardson (R-Poplar Bluff) were honored with the Missouri Community College Association’s Legislative Award of Distinction at a ceremony in Branson tonight.  The award was presented in recognition of Libla’s and Richardson’s strong and focused advocacy on behalf of Missouri’s community colleges and the students they serve.  Three Rivers College president Dr. Wes Payne praised the legislators, describing them as powerful advocates and indefatigable in their efforts to support both Three Rivers College and community colleges around the state.

This year marked MCCA’s fiftieth annual convention.  Association members celebrated the milestone by hosting several former community college leaders at the convention, including Dr. Norman Myers, founding president of Ozarks Technical Community College; Dr. Don Shook, founding president of East Central College, St. Charles Community College, and St. Charles Community College; and Dr. Jim Kellerman, former MCCA executive director.

The Missouri Community College Association is a statewide organization through which Missouri’s community colleges work together to advance common agendas.  MCCA provides advocacy, education, information, and networking opportunities in service of the state’s 5,700 community college faculty, staff, administrators, and trustees.